To Those Who Say There Is No God

Written by Victor Uyanwanne

Does God exist?

The online Oxford dictionary defines atheism as “Disbelief or lack of belief in the existence of God or gods.” On the other hand, Merriam-Webster  explains it as “a disbelief in the existence of deity” or “the doctrine that there is no deity.”

In this brief discourse, atheism shall be construed simply as the “belief that there is no God.”

Let me be upfront with this: I am a Christian and so I believe in the living God (the God with capital ‘G’). Those who follow this blog would know that already.

That said, I find it hard to fathom why some people find it so easy to claim that God doesn’t exist. I respect the fact that everyone has the right to believe what they want. But sincerely, to think that there is no God beats my imagination.

To my mind, there is enough evidence in us and around us to prove that there is God who made all things. There is enough evidence to prove that our life and existence and the earth we live on couldn’t have been a result of a random explosion that occurred at some point in history.

Recently, during an online interaction, I mentioned to a fellow blogger that I have never been in a close contact with any atheist. I have heard about a few notable public figures whom reports say they don’t believe in God. But I have never met any of them personally.

I am moved with compassion whenever I hear that someone doesn’t believe in God. “I wish they knew better!” I would say to myself, because “I know God exists.”

Several centuries ago, one of the greatest men that ever lived on earth declared in Psalms Chapter 14:1 that “A fool says in his heart there is no God.” The same thing was repeated in Psalms 53:1.

From these scriptures, we can see that anyone that says there is no God, is not wise at all. If that assertion came from me, you could discountenance it. But as it is the written word of God, one ignores it at one’s own peril.

Some other arguments about God are far easier to understand than to say that He doesn’t exist at all. For instance, some people reason that there are many ways to God. But in Christianity, we say Jesus Christ is the only Way.

In fact, Jesus himself during His earthly walk made some audacious claims about this when he said, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to the Father except by Me.”

What was Jesus saying? Simply put, He meant “There is God (the Father) and I am the only Way to Him.”

 

Upcoming Post:  16 Sobering Things Every Atheist Should Know

 

©Copyright | Victor Uyanwanne

100 thoughts on “To Those Who Say There Is No God

  1. Midori Skies December 31, 2015 / 5:33 am

    Victor, thank you for answering my question. If it requires faith to see the evidence, though, that’s not really what I think of when I hear the word “evidence”. Which leads us right back to where we were before. You tell me I need to have faith, and I tell you I did have faith and still didn’t see the evidence.

    I could perhaps try a different approach. If someone told you that you just need to have faith, and then you will see the evidence that Allah (or some other god) is the one true god, would you take them seriously? Would you make that leap of faith?

    Like

    • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus December 31, 2015 / 6:16 am

      You didn’t see the right evidence because you looked in the wrong place Midori and believed a lie and by your own confession now, you still want to believe the lies, so you will never have True Faith and you never did as Victor shared with you, Truth Faith never wavers because it’s from God who fills a seeking heart with His Truth… As Victor also shared … from the Bible; when you search for God with all your heart you will find Him.

      But you won’t find Him Midori while ever your mind is full of Evolution and Big Bang rubbish, because rubbish in rubbish out.

      God tells us very clearly in His inspired Scripture that He created us and the World in six days and He does not lie, man does but He does not!

      Kind regards – Anne.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Victor Uyanwanne December 31, 2015 / 7:47 am

        Anne. I am thrilled by this response. You hit the nail on the head, better than I did. Thanks for contributing.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Victor Uyanwanne December 31, 2015 / 7:45 am

      Midori, I am happy to hear this time around that your question was answered.

      I did say you should have faith in just anything or anyone for that matter. I am talking about faith in Jesus Christ, as the only Lord and Saviour. That’s true faith.

      In my part of the world, I have people who say they have faith in their wooden or iron god. But I know with out doubt that their faith is misplaced, because a wooden god cannot forgive sin, neither can it change people.

      There is only one True God and the Way to Him is through Faith in Jesus Christ. That’s it Midori. Regards.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus December 31, 2015 / 12:00 pm

        Victor you reminded me of the years I was in darkness, even though I had been to Church, I became addicted to gambling and when seeking help I went to Gamblers Anonymous, it comes from A.A the 12 Steps were written by a Christian Minister but were later wrongly changed by a Member from seeking Jesus for deliverance to seeking god as you know Him.

        One man chose an old tree for his god and he prayed and sung to the Tree, told it his problems and yes he didn’t gamble again until the tree was cut down and a woman claimed the Aussie Kangaroo was her god until she was hit by one.

        I came to True heart repentance after nearly committing suicide, I felt at the time that God could not Love someone as evil as me because I could not stop gambling even after I had been to G.A for 3 years but Jesus went after His lost sheep and I came to my senses and Wow what a welcome Home.Than after being anointed with oil and prayed for by a Church Elder, I was delivered and also healed Miraculously of two life threatening conditions and I have never gambled since and it is now many years later, yes I was tempted once but I asked Jesus to help me and He did and now I have no desire to gamble at all.

        We have a God of the impossible and I don’t doubt it at all and I’m sure you don’t either Victor.

        “Christ”ian Love – Anne.

        Like

        • Victor Uyanwanne December 31, 2015 / 12:12 pm

          Thanks Anne for sharing this wonderful story about your life. Again an eloquent evidence that our God is alive and still changing lives. I hope that Midori and Jason get to read it.

          Of course, I don’t doubt that God can do the impossible. That’s why I so much believe that all doubters can be converted.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Midori Skies December 31, 2015 / 8:36 am

    I think I’ve had enough of being condescended to, and told I never “really” believed.

    Victor, if you wouldn’t make that leap of faith when someone told you that you just needed to have faith in their god, then I don’t see why you think I should find that same argument convincing. I’m sure you’ll say your god is different, somehow, but I only have your word for it.

    And I still find it very frustrating when you keep telling me I just need to have faith, and then denying or dismissing my experiences when I say that I did have faith.

    Frankly, I don’t see any point in continuing this conversation. We just keep covering the same points over and over, and I’m tired of having my experiences dismissed.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus December 31, 2015 / 11:14 am

        I’m pleased you agree Jason because Evolutionists can’t prove the world is billions of years old, Carbon dating can only confirm 4,000 to 6,000 years and the other ways of dating the earth and Planets are just theories. God tells us He created the World to be inhabited by us not left empty for billions of years while we evolved.

        Strange I have not heard you or Midori respond to the evidence on my link which confirms that we couldn’t have evolved from animals, no doubt your speechless.

        Nailed it!

        Kind regards – Anne

        Liked by 1 person

        • Jason Philo December 31, 2015 / 5:50 pm

          I had not replied to your link because I had not seen the conversation for a while. Looking at it again is laughable. Your source for these “facts” is not from peer-reviewed scientific work, but from creation scientists, with no peer-reviewed work and just consists of mash-ups of the bible and science-ey words to make it sound good to anyone who does not know how to fact check something.

          Did you know that *if* the earth is only 4-6 thousand years old (which I’m guessing is the point you’re making there), we would not be able to view the majority of the stars in the sky, but only a small portion that are within the 4-6 thousand light-year distance? Is it a fair guess that you “believe” in the speed of light is 186k miles per second? If not, you can research it yourself, test it, and learn for yourself that fact. In the long run, it really doesn’t matter whether you believe it or not, because it’s as true as the moon orbiting the earth.

          On the other hand, proof of the Christian God, or any other of the myriads that have existed throughout human history, cannot be found. No one can prove they exist. It relies on special revelation. This is also true for Satan, demons, or any other evil spirits. I cannot go to my local university to study these things, but have to read an ancient book *hoping* that I’m doing it right and find favor in the God of the Hebrews to reveal himself to me, and if not then I’m lost to hell instead of eternity in heaven (two additional places for which there’s no evidence).

          I simply choose to make decisions based on facts and information rather than a feeling or an imaginary voice in my head calling itself “God”. And for the times that there’s no answer, I’m okay with that too, content with saying “I don’t know”. It’s a simpler life. It’s not hopeless. I make my own value and purpose and enjoy each day simply making the most of the time I have. *If* there’s something after life, then great. Which reminds me, you used “has Jason died and come back to prove…” a couple of times: No, I have not and neither have you. And if either of us had, we could still not prove the existence of an afterlife because it’s a subjective personal experience — just like our favorite colors.

          So in the long run, if religion makes sense to you, good for you. But be wary of the threats you impose upon yourself and others. They’re a sign of weakness and insecurity. It makes more sense to me to avoid someone who says, “love me or suffer forever.”

          Liked by 1 person

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 1, 2016 / 12:42 am

          Let’s look at Stars Jason and than we will look at why we are answerable to God who Created us and it’s not His will for anyone to suffer Eternally or He would not have sent Jesus to Redeem us, it is our choice where we choose to spend Eternity, He does not want Puppets that have no free will, so we have a choice to make and it is by God’s Mercy and Grace that we do, since the Fall we were all doomed to Eternal damnation, Satan won the right to destroy us by his deception, Jesus has set us free and believing in Him means we choose to be.

          I will leave you the Link Jason so you can read the full write up on Stars and also about the speed of light and other Truths, it would indeed help you greatly to know what Christian Scientists have confirmed as Truth and error, which no doubt will surprise you too. Some of these Scientists are Nobel Prize winners and others are highly respected for their achievements in Science including Astronomy, I do have a list of their Names and their Awards if wanted. I have also been a Volunteer for Creation Ministries in Queensland and can testify to their Integrity and God centered focus, we use to all pray together every Tuesday and at times they shared amazing Truths over lunch, yes they were humble too, they always made me feel part of the team as they did everyone else too.

          How do Astronomers determine the age of a Star? There is no direct method. The age is worked out based on assumptions about what stars are, how they form, and how they change over millions of years. We need to realize that these assumptions have very limited testability. No one was present to observe the stars form in the past, and no stars have been observed to form in the present. (Evolutionists claim to find evidence of ongoing star formation in various gas nebulae but none have been actually imaged and the glowing could be heated, compressed gas.5) Furthermore, there has not been enough time to observe any of the evolutionary changes postulated by Stellar Evolutionary Theory.

          Nevertheless, starting from a theoretical sequence of how they envisage stars have evolved over millions of years, astronomers interpret the age of a star from its colour and brightness (or magnitude). These are plotted on the standard astronomy tool used to classify stellar populations, the Hertzsprung-Russell or H-R diagram (simply a plot of brightness vs colour). Most stars plot together forming a curved line termed the ‘main sequence’.6

          For example, Astronomers assume that all main sequence stars with a mass equal or greater than 0.08 of the sun’s mass, derive all their energy by ‘burning’ hydrogen by nuclear fusion. Main sequences stars with greater than 1.2 solar masses are assumed to ‘burn’ hydrogen via the carbon, nitrogen, and oxygen (CNO) cycle. These assumptions are difficult to test. From these assumptions, Astronomers working on the Phoenix project have concluded that the Population I stars are much younger stars:

          ‘We present new deep VI ground-based photometry of the Local Group dwarf galaxy Phoenix. Our results confirm that this galaxy is mainly dominated by red stars, with some blue plume stars indicating recent (100 Myr old) star formation in the central part of the galaxy. … These results were then used to obtain the color-magnitude diagrams for three different regions of Phoenix in order to study the variation of the properties of its stellar Population.’ 7

          This discovery of young Population I stars in the dwarf Phoenix galaxy has astonished Astronomers because it does not fit the current ideas of galaxy formation…………

          Link- http://creation.com/

          So Jason we know that the God created the earth and all that is in it in 6 days or He is not telling us the Truth but when did He create the Solar System?

          Kind regards – Anne.

          Like

        • Jason Philo January 1, 2016 / 2:38 am

          Those points do not prove God created the heavens. They prove those things are there, not that a Middle-Eastern war God made them.

          This is really pointless. I was excited to see a comment that had content, even if I don’t agree with the conclusion. Then you went back to your regular rude, arrogant self. I don’t get your human belly button comment anyway. I’m thinking it was with the unique navel thing from your crappy science link?

          I hope you feel like you’re making Jesus proud.

          Like

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 1, 2016 / 3:43 am

          Just proves you didn’t read my other link Jason (see below) or you would know we can’t evolve from Animals and why, as for being rude you were the one who used the expression Nail It! I thought you felt it was a good, so are you saying it’s not ?

          Creation – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2015/10/03/wow-a-new-missing-link-has-been-found/

          I have no doubt Jason that my Abba Father delights in me as His Redeemed Daughter, He tells us He does in Scripture and He does not Lie, He even sings over us and Jesus Christ is my Spiritual Husband and I walk proudly with Him, I have His Name and He is leading me into all Truth.

          “Christ”ian Love – Anne.

          Like

        • Jason Philo January 1, 2016 / 3:51 am

          Good for you. I’m done with this.

          Like

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 1, 2016 / 7:14 am

          That’s not a surprise Jason, you didn’t come here with a teachable Spirit, Victor showed both you and Midori enough evidence to confirm God’s Reality and so did I.

          As a man/woman thinks in their heart so their actions will follow.

          Kind Regards – Anne.

          Like

        • Jason Philo January 1, 2016 / 4:15 pm

          There’s nothing wrong with reason and evidence as tools to make sense of the world. I just prefer mine to be more tangible and less subjective.

          We all do our best. Be well.

          Like

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 1, 2016 / 4:45 pm

          Jason why do you search for answers from those who don’t have answers just assumptions, Theories and fleshy logic and reasoning but no proof, if you are genuine about knowing God’s reality, the Bible has enough evidence to open your eyes to His Truth, only God could have known some of the things recorded in it when they were recorded.

          Romans 10:17 So then faith cometh by hearing and hearing by the word of God.(KJV)

          God Loves you Jason I have no doubt about that, He wants you to know Him, His plans for you are so good, you can’t even imagine how good, He Loved you before you were conceived, you have not committed the unforgivable sin Jason or you would not be here now, you would be content wallowing in the mud, we would be of no interest to you or what we believe.

          There is a man who came back from the dead and it is documented by the Hospital where he died and also that he came back to life in the morgue, would you like to hear his story? I’m going to bed now it’s late in Aussie Land but if wanted I will post the link in the Morning.

          “Christ”ian Love – Anne.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Jason Philo January 1, 2016 / 4:57 pm

          In case I’ve not been clear, I’m not searching for God any longer. That concept does not make sense to me any longer. Also, as a Jewish man, Jesus holds no appeal whatsoever, which is an entirely different topic. 🙂

          My interest started as a response to Victor’s post to share a differing viewpoint on topic with his post.

          Sleep well.

          Like

        • Victor Uyanwanne January 1, 2016 / 5:05 pm

          Jason, I am convinced your initial comment on my post was not an accident. I have totally enjoyed the conversations so far. Already two new posts have arisen from the exchanges…But there could be more to it, that may not be too clear yet. God loves you Jason and so do I.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 2, 2016 / 3:41 am

          Why did you bother Jason if you had no interest, were you looking for an argument? Victor will not respond that way he has no need to, he has the Truth and so do I but I have Ministered to Atheists before and know those who are seeking for a fight but I do not feel you are, somewhere deep inside you are searching for the Truth, The Holy Spirit is working in your life but God will not force you to believe but He is calling out to you to respond to His invitation to be in His Family.

          Below is the Link I told you about, I would be interested in knowing your perceptions Jason as to what Ian shares about his experience with death and please remember it was officially documented that he did die physically and came back to life later.

          http://www.aglimpseofeternity.org/content.php?folder_id=14

          Blessings – Anne.

          Like

        • Jason Philo January 3, 2016 / 2:36 pm

          I had interest in exchange of ideas, an expected purpose of public posting of ideas. I am not searching for religion as I’ve played that song for a while and it got to where it no longer fit in how I see the world. That is all.

          I’ve heard stories similar to Ian’s. Heaven is Real and other similar stories are like it as well. I don’t doubt that these people had experiences, but you can’t remember experiences without your brain working. Usually people out leave out bits of the stories that don’t make sense, or don’t add to the theme (like the way we will leave out pieces of a dream that seem irrelevant to the story we’re telling). It also begs the question about people from other faiths/cultures that have near-death experiences (NDEs) but they see their gods instead of the christian one – are their experiences less valid? And only 1-2 people in 10 have reported this event after being revived, so in this case the majority of “evidence” is that nothing happens.

          In short, it’s a very subjective experience that cannot be used as a reliable witness to the events occurring in this scenario.

          But it does look like he’s made a bit of a living off of it. Good for him.

          Like

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 3, 2016 / 3:40 pm

          Thanks Jason for getting back to me and yes I agree with you some do see what they believe like in a dream but Ian had no Faith in God before. I had an elderly friend who died and came back and Wow what a changed person she was, before she was very cynical and felt God was cruel but after her near-death experience she Loved God deeply and even asked Ron to start a Church Service in the Nursing Home where she lived.

          Blessings – Anne.

          Like

        • Jason Philo January 3, 2016 / 4:01 pm

          I do not disagree that surviving death would be a life-changing experience. A terrible reminder of how how fleeting it all is would certainly make the next sunrise a much sweeter one. Cheers

          Like

        • Victor Uyanwanne January 1, 2016 / 4:52 pm

          Jason, not everything can be reasoned out.

          Agreed that Physical things can be scrutinised by our senses. But in spiritual matters our five senses are just too handicapped to understand some things. Regards.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Jason Philo January 1, 2016 / 5:01 pm

          Everything can be reasoned out. Some things take longer. We’re just on the cusp of understanding how the mind works, even in matters that would be considered spiritual by some. The things that are difficult to reason does not mean they cannot be and therefore God must be real — it just means it’s time to roll up your sleeves and get to work. We have great capabilities to understand the way our bodies and minds work — and there is much that has been learned and much remains.

          Also regards. 🙂

          Like

        • Victor Uyanwanne January 1, 2016 / 5:11 pm

          Jason, i smiled as I read your comments now. The mind that works, the great capabilities to understand… Couldn’t have been a product of evolution. There must be a God who made it possible!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Jason Philo January 2, 2016 / 2:29 pm

          Hi, Victor. I did not forget about you. You hit on a big point with this statement and I needed to think of a concise and efficient reply.

          Humans have an insatiable curiosity and desire to understand the world and find answers to the questions that day-to-day life makes. We also have an incredible learning capacity.

          Our computers, tablets, and phones have great capabilities. The way they work is beyond me, but I do not attribute the things that I do not understand to god or jesus. I can pick up a book and learn about this.

          Just as we can learn about computers, we are learning about the mechanics of human evolution and the processes our bodies are capable of now. And just because I do not understand them all, I can go see evidence myself at a university or museum and even go online to almost anywhere in the world from the comfort of my home.

          Your comment made me smile because it possesses an insatiable curiosity. I am not going to ask you to give up your faith because it doesn’t affect me. But I will ask you to seek answers for the things you want to know. Go see the fossils for yourself. Find articles from scientists that have spent their professional lifetime studying the facts. To be clear, I’m not saying you have to give up your faith to do this, but try to understand the questions you have instead of being satisfied with the superficial answer of “there must be a god”. If humans still did that today, you and I would not be having this conversation. We wouldn’t have modern medicines. We wouldn’t have visited every planet in our solar system (or demoted a planet).

          If you can, watch the Cosmos series by Neil DeGrasse Tyson. He is an incredibly friendly speaker on the world we live in. He explains how we’ve learned what we have in easy ways for us non-scientist types so that we can understand the principles. It’s also a gorgeous show to watch with incredible visual effects. God wants you to know more about your world, right? Cosmos (or the same book by Carl Sagan) is a great place to start.

          It’s a pleasure sharing ideas with you, which was the goal I had in mind. Be well.

          Like

        • Victor Uyanwanne January 2, 2016 / 10:25 pm

          Jason, I am not against knowledge. I am all for discovering the world we live in.

          Actually it gives me pleasure to see scientists tell us more about a world or the universe created by my Father God. Nothing wrong with that…

          Where I disagree is where I am told that such a finely ordered universe was not created by any God, which to me is really laughable because even common sense can see that such a complex arrangement of things could not have resulted from the so-called big bang effect.

          Talking about human curiosity, I am cool with that too. I am a curious person too. In fact your comment met me when I was writing a post on my mind about curiosity. Smiles.

          You talked about computers, tablets phones. You are marvelled by their capabilities…rightly so. But remember that they have such capabilities because humans programmed them to do so.

          Same way, the human mind could not have been so tremendous in capability too without God who designed it. You can call God the greatest programmer or designer ever….

          Jason, this is really so obvious, that there is a super power who put the universe in place. I just can’t see why it is difficult for you to see. Regards

          Liked by 1 person

        • Jason Philo January 3, 2016 / 2:17 pm

          I guess we both have an eyesight problem then. 😉

          Be well, Victor. It’s been fun talking with you. Maybe one day we can talk in person when the conversation can be more fluid, and laughs can be shared.

          Like

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 1, 2016 / 1:39 am

          P.S Sorry Jason I forgot to respond to you about my Link so your saying you don’t have a Human belly button?

          Nailed it!

          Kind regards – Anne.

          Like

    • Victor Uyanwanne December 31, 2015 / 11:49 pm

      Midori, I really do not want you to feel condescended upon as you said. That’s definitely not our intension here. So it’s okay by me if you feel like discontinuing this online discussion because of that.

      You may reopen it later if you so desire. On the alternative, I may recommend that you meet a local pastor near you, who will be able to ‘lead’ you to God as it were. Is that too much to ask?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Victor Uyanwanne December 31, 2015 / 11:52 pm

    Midori, religion didn’t make sense to me. But a personal relationship with Jesus Christ did, and still does.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 3, 2016 / 10:09 am

    Hi Victor, I found something you may find very interesting, I certainly did but let me know what you think, although I’m sure you will find it a blessing, as it does show God’s Love and Truth impacting lives.

    Ten Quotes from Former Atheists……..

    1. “Supposing there was no intelligence behind the universe, no creative mind. In that case, nobody designed my brain for the purpose of thinking. It is merely that when the atoms inside my skull happen, for physical or chemical reasons, to arrange themselves in a certain way, this gives me, as a by-product, the sensation I call thought. But, if so, how can I trust my own thinking to be true? It’s like upsetting a milk jug and hoping that the way it splashes itself will give you a map of London. But if I can’t trust my own thinking, of course I can’t trust the arguments leading to Atheism, and therefore have no reason to be an Atheist, or anything else. Unless I believe in God, I cannot believe in thought: so I can never use thought to disbelieve in God.” — C.S. Lewis, The Case for Christianity

    2. “It was the evidence from Science and History that prompted me to abandon my Atheism and become a Christian.” — Lee Strobel, The Case for Christ

    3. “To be honest, I didn’t want to believe that Christianity could radically transform someone’s character and values. It was much easier to raise doubts and manufacture outrageous objections that to consider the possibility that God actually could trigger a revolutionary turn-around in such a depraved and degenerate life.” — Lee Strobel, The Case for Christ

    4. “If skeptics were willing to give the Gospels the same ‘benefit of the doubt’ they are willing to give other ancient documents, the Gospels would easily pass the test of Authorship.” — Warner Wallace, Cold Case Christianity

    5. “When I began my career as a cosmologist some twenty years ago, I was a convinced Atheist. I never in my wildest dreams imagined that one day I would be writing a book purporting to show that the central claims of Judeo-Christian Theology are in fact True, that these claims are straightforward deductions of the laws of physics as we now understand them. I have been forced into these conclusions by the inexorable logic of my own special branch of physics.” — Frank Tipler, The Physics of Immortality.

    6. “Atheism, I began to realize, rested on a less-than-satisfactory evidential basis. The arguments that had once seemed bold, decisive, and conclusive increasingly turned out to be circular, tentative, and uncertain.” — Alister McGrath, Breaking The Science-Atheism Bond

    7. “I thought this gesture [burning his Bible] was a way of showing that I had finally rejected all the things that I had been brought up to believe, and I went on to behave for the next 20 years of my life exactly as if I didn’t believe in Him [God], and that’s how I discovered in the end that what I had rejected was right.” — Peter Hitchens, The Rage Against God

    8. “My Atheistic philosophy had allowed me to lose my compassion for others. I no longer had the ability to love anyone, not even myself. I had become apathetic to life itself. For years, I had been dead, but because I continued to walk and talk, I didn’t know it. But now, I was Born again and the spirit that was in me, which had allowed me to understand Spiritual things, connected with the glorious and perfect higher consciousness of Jesus Christ” — A.S.A. Jones, Testimony of a Former Atheist

    9. “Some time last week, I realized that I could no longer call myself a skeptic. After fifteen years away from Christianity, most of which was spent as an Atheist with an active, busy intent on destroying the Faith, I returned to a Church (with a real intention of going for worship) last Sunday. Although I know I may struggle with doubt for the rest of my life, my life as an Atheist is over.” — Darrin Rasberry, The Journey of An Old Atheist Convert

    10. “I very seldom like to mention the turning point of my own life, for it is a very private matter and sometimes still hurts to think of it, to say nothing of the embarrassment it must bring my family. But I cannot resist thinking of that most poignant moment of my past. I was seventeen years old when, with neither great intensity or great anguish, I came to the recognition that life had very little meaning. The more I pondered its harsh implication the closer I drew to a decision. That decision was to choose the way of suicide……..

    “I found myself after that attempt lying in a Hospital bed, having expelled all the poison that I had taken but unsure if I would recover. There on that bed, with a dehydrated body, the Scriptures were read to me. The flooding of my heart with the news that Jesus Christ could come into my life and that I could know God personally defies the depths to which the Truth overwhelmed me. In that moment with a simple prayer of Trust, the change from a desperate heart to one that found the fullness of meaning became a reality for me. God reached down to a Teenager in a Hospital bed in the city of New Delhi, a mega-city of teeming millions. Imagine! God cared enough to hear my cry. How incredible, that He has a personal interest in the struggles of our lives. I cannot express it better than to say that His self-sufficiency and greatness do not deny us the wonderful Joy of being affirmed in our individuality and of knowing that we are of unique value to Him. That was the point of the parable Jesus told about the Shepherd who left the ninety-nine sheep in the fold and went looking for the one.“ — Ravi Zacharias, The Cries of The Heart

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Victor Uyanwanne January 3, 2016 / 10:45 am

      Thank you so much Anne. I found it very interesting. I wish our friends Jason and Midori read and think of these too. Regards.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 3, 2016 / 11:25 am

        I thought you would find it interesting Victor but as for Jason and Midori they may still reject it’s Truth but we will continue to pray for their confusion to be resolved for God’s glory.

        Blessings – Anne.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Victor Uyanwanne January 3, 2016 / 11:52 am

          Yea, I did find it interesting. Prayer is key. We will continue to pray for them. Thanks.

          Like

  5. Midori Skies January 7, 2016 / 2:34 am

    Hello again, Victor. I decided to come back to this thread, not to continue to debate about the existence of God, but to explain in more detail why I felt condescended to. I’m going to take you at your word that you did not want to come across as condescending, and assume that you are willing to change your approach to better be able to talk with atheists in the future.

    One of the things you have told me repeatedly is that since I am no longer a Christian, I must have never really believed in the first place. This is in direct contradiction to what I have told you my experiences have been. In denying that my experiences were what I say they were, you are implying that you know more about my own experiences than I do. I hope you can see why I might find this problematic.

    I’m not saying you need to change your beliefs to match my experiences. I wouldn’t suddenly change my position because someone told me they had felt the presence of God. I might disagree with their interpretation of their experience or offer an alternative explanation. But I’m not going to tell them they didn’t experience it. They know far more about their own experiences than I do.

    “I thought you would find it interesting Victor but as for Jason and Midori they may still reject it’s Truth but we will continue to pray for their confusion to be resolved for God’s glory.”

    This was one of Anne’s comments, but I will use it for an example. Imagine for a second how you would feel if Jason or I left a comment saying, “Victor and Anne still deny that their sky fairy is a myth, but we will continue to hope that they will eventually see through their delusions.” Throwing around words like “confusion” and “delusions” is not helpful in seeking to have a civil conversation. Neither is framing the other person’s position as denial. Now, it might be useful if you want to mock the other person in an attempt to show the audience that the other person’s position is ridiculous, but I am guessing that is not your intention here.

    If you are interested in learning more about how to better relate to atheists, I recommend watching this video: What Atheists Wish Christians Knew About Them

    It’s about 15 minutes long and was part of “Interview an Atheist in Church Day”.

    Like

    • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 7, 2016 / 4:47 am

      Midori you are more than confused, to say there is no God even though the evidence shows there is, means your foolish and this is what God calls you Himself but He still Loves you even though you don’t deserve to be Loved, none of us do, we all put Jesus on the Cross because of our sin but He is giving you like He did us a chance to repent and accept His free gift of Salvation through Jesus Christ but He won’t make you repent, it’s still your choice.

      Now let’s get it straight, Midori you have no evidence that God does not exist and that we evolved yet you claim we are wrong when we do have evidence that God exists and that we did not evolve both of which I have also shared with you without having a response from you.

      I want to ask you something Midori, if someone called the Person you Loved passionately and who came first in your life names that Mocked them, how would you feel ? would you want to continue talking to them ? you and others who claim there is no God and Slander and Mock Him even calling Him a sky fairy, think Christians owe you an apology but we don’t! we stand up for God’s Truth as He tells us to do and we do not have to apologize for doing this or accept the evil you and others propagate.

      Victor Lovingly overlooked your rudeness trying to reach you because he is a very Loving man but you hurt God, Victor, myself and any other Christian who read your unloving words here about our Heavenly Father.

      I suggest you examine yourself first Midori and apologize for your rudeness before you lay blame on us Christians who seek to reach you in Love before you suffer Eternally, which is your choice not God’s will, He has given you a way to escape an Evil Destiny and yet sadly you Mock Him.

      “Christ”ian Love – Anne.

      Like

    • Victor Uyanwanne January 7, 2016 / 8:25 am

      Thank you Midori for coming back here, especially after you had said you were done with it. Your comments are noted and appreciated.

      I want you to know that Anne and I value you as a person, irrespective of your views about our God. So as you maintain that you felt ‘condescended’ upon by the way we made our points, then it is not a big deal for me to say my apologies for that.

      As you rightly observed, our intention is not to mock you for not believing in our God… Never. But it doesn’t rule out the fact that I pray and sincerely hope that you will someday find a reason to believe in God through Jesus Christ His Son. That’s my heart desire, so please don’t be offended by that again. (Pun intended).

      I watched the video. May be some of the points are okay by me. But what if I told you some of them are incorrect?

      For instance, the speaker said believing is not a choice. Actually, it is. Not believing is also a choice, I should add.

      In fact, in Christianity you don’t become a Christian until you decide or choose to believe in God through His Son Jesus Christ.

      It is not forced. It is not inherited by the circumstance of birth. It is not a coincidence. It it completely a thing of choice.

      I will like to stop here except I get an indication that you are still open to further conversation.
      Regards.

      Like

  6. Midori Skies January 7, 2016 / 6:58 am

    Anne, from your comment, I’m not entirely sure that you actually understood that my “sky fairy” comment was entirely _hypothetical_ The entire point of including it was to show you what a condescending comment from an atheist might look like, so that it might be compared with the condescending things that have been said to and about me in this thread, in the hope that you might empathetically understand my point of view.

    I have previously stated that I am done with being condescended to here. That has not changed. I did not come back here to continue our previous conversation, but to offer Victor a potentially useful, more detailed description of why I left this thread.

    But Anne, you have proven time and again that you are unwilling to respect me. Your “love” seems to involve condescending to me and throwing insults at me, while my “evil” seems to involve respectfully disagreeing with you. If that is what “love” and “evil” are, then I will take my “evil” over your “love” any day. Please keep your “love” to yourself. I want no part of it.

    I hope you can take your own advice and examine your own actions before blaming others, but I will not be responding to your comments again, whatever happens.

    Like

    • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 7, 2016 / 9:49 am

      I suggest you read your own comments again Midori and ours too, I offer no apology for sharing God’s Truth, He does call you a fool the same as I was when I believed the lies of false Teachers and Trusted in my own fleshy worldly understanding.

      Proverbs 26:4 Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.

      Proverbs 26:5 Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

      Psalm 14:1 The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good. – (KJV)

      If you felt we were condescending Midori,, that is your problem, not ours, both what Victor and I shared was in Love but you reject God’s Truth and that is why you see what we share as Negative instead of Positive, I see no need for us to apologize for your wrong judgmental understanding and it’s Jesus Love your rejecting not ours, remember that on Judgment Day.

      I will now move on and delete this link but I will continue like Victor to pray for you both to come to your senses and Repent of your foolishness, time is short.

      “Christ”ian Love – Anne.

      Like

    • Victor Uyanwanne February 14, 2016 / 3:31 pm

      Midori, I revisited this thread only to find that I had not responded to your last comment. Your points are noted, and I believe you noted mine too.

      By the way, am I talking with the same person I knew as Midori Skies? I can see Alex Black now instead. Regards.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. oneta hayes January 29, 2016 / 7:03 am

    I see that you visited me today. You left a like on Mocking God, and marked my follow. Thanks I have come to do the same so I will see you more. I agree with you that it boggles my mind how anyone can not believe in God. His evidence is all around us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Victor Uyanwanne January 29, 2016 / 7:11 am

      Thanks Oneta for your commenting and stopping by. I will be glad to see you more here too.

      Like

  8. Alex Black February 15, 2016 / 12:41 am

    Yeah, same person.

    On beliefs being a choice, I have heard that many times. But I have not experienced my own beliefs as a choice. When I was a child, I believed what my parents told me. When I grew up and started looking for my own reasons to believe, and didn’t find any good reason to believe? I didn’t choose to stop believing. I just one day realized that I had. That was pretty scary for a while, especially until I got over my fear of hell.

    I won’t deny the possibility that other people have chosen their beliefs. But that has not been my experience.

    Like

    • Victor Uyanwanne February 15, 2016 / 5:19 am

      Didn’t we all believe what we were told as children? Of course we did. But as we grew up, we became able to make up our minds on things on what to believe or not to believe.

      To my mind, believing is a choice, not believing is a choice. No man is a robot…. No body controls our minds for us.

      We are all now responsible for our individual choices. What we believe is our choice, what we don’t believe is our choice

      Like

Leave a Reply

