WHEN YOU ENCOUNTER AN ATHEIST FOR THE FIRST TIME Part 2

WHEN YOU ENCOUNTER AN ATHEIST FOR THE FIRST TIME  Part 2

Written By Victor Uyanwanne

Hell is avoidable

Welcome to the second post in this special series of my encounter with an atheist.

In When You Encounter An Atheist For the First Time Part 1, I began sharing my experience on an online encounter with an atheist who responded to my previous post, To Those Who Say There Is No God

In this continuation post, we will see what the said atheist categorically thinks of God, amongst other things. As with the first post, both his comment and my response thereto are presented here unabridged.

The Atheist, TAB

“I guess I should elaborate a while. I was a devoted Christian for about 15 years before I converted [to] Judaism. I no longer believe in God and have not only rejected Jesus, but [I have] also blasphemed the Holy Spirit.
The god of the three monotheistic faiths is a sado-masichistic (sic) tyrant who creates us sick and demands us to be well, at the threat of eternal hellfire. What a spoiled twat. Who needs that?”

 

My Response

TAB, thank you for throwing more light into your position. Now I know where you stand on the belief in the existence of God.

When you said you were once “a devoted Christian…” I would really like to know exactly what you meant by that. [I am asking because] I am familiar with a few people who call themselves “devoted Christians” simply because they go to church regularly, help the needy, gave money in church, fast[ed] two times a week, ate holy communion, par[took] in Christian events and all that. But they have not come to the knowledge of Jesus Christ as their individual Lord and Saviour.

The next questions I would ask would be these: Did you ever come to the point of having a personal relationship with God, by accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Personal Saviour and living by His grace? How did you arrive at the point of not believing in God anymore as you indicated?

I am not to speak for the other so-called monotheistic faiths you referred to. But for the avoidance of doubt, the God that I believe in is the One who “… so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life” (John 3:16). This God is calling us (all mankind) into a personal relationship with Him through His Son Jesus Christ who died and resurrected for our sake.

This God is a God of love and He could never be a tyrant as you called Him. Only someone who hadn’t known God would describe Him as such; those who truly know Him know better than that.

At creation God created man in perfect state of health. It was the corruption of sin that gave birth to the issue of sickness (and other evils), which you wrongly attributed to God. If for anything, God wants us well – in spirit, soul and body.

Hell is not a threat from God as you put it. It is a real place prepared for satan and his angels who rebelled against God.

[Please allow me to add that] it is not the will of God that anyone should perish and go to hell, but rather it is the will of God for all to come to repentance and be saved through faith in His Son Jesus Christ. Unfortunately rather than accepting the Lordship of Christ, many people have sided [or are siding] with satan [till date]. For such ones, hell is a beckoning reality.

But to anyone who is still alive, hell is absolutely avoidable if they accept Jesus Christ as their Lord and Saviour. [To answer your ending question directly, I would say] we definitely need that God who has made a way of escaping hell through faith in Christ.

Please share your thoughts – whether as a believe in God or as an atheist.

 

STILL AHEAD: WHEN YOU ENCOUNTER AN ATHEIST FOR THE FIRST TIME  Part 3

 

©Copyright | Victor Uyanwanne

11 thoughts on “WHEN YOU ENCOUNTER AN ATHEIST FOR THE FIRST TIME Part 2

  1. Deborah johnson December 29, 2015 / 3:58 pm

    You have so beautifully and gently described the Lord of my life. I find it hard to believe that if anyone had the love of God in their heart that they could walk away from His comfort in time of sorrow, His joy when all is hopeless,His peace in the midst of the storm, His protection in times when we need a shield of righteousness, His love when we feel alone, and the hope of all my tomorrows.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Victor Uyanwanne December 29, 2015 / 4:09 pm

      Thank you Deborah for your comment. So glad you know Jesus as your Lord. He is my Lord too… Forever. No walking away from Him. Thanks for stopping by. Regards.

      Like

  2. Jason Philo December 30, 2015 / 8:18 pm

    Victor: thank you for keeping these posts true to our conversation.

    When I began commenting on your post, it was mainly for being in a bit of a mood as I had recently discussed atheism with a new Christian, and was in a bit of an ire.

    I was once a devout believer. If you, or your commenters had met me, you would have accepted me as one of your own. But it was in the midst of sorrow, hopelessness, and storm that I could not find his comfort, joy, and protection – the time when I needed it more than any other in my life. My wife was recovering from cancer and our best friend was losing their child.

    The loss of faith was not instant. It took years to happen. But the questions those events generated could not be sustained by faith. Faith had no answers. Faith could not make sense of these events. In turn, these events opened my eyes to the suffering not only of humanity but also to the cold indifference of nature to all of life. Then there was the matter of the thousands other faiths that exist and the sincerity and devotion to which those people practiced and believed. Then there was the idea that if other life exists in the universe, if they held similar convictions of faith to their own gods, what would be the likelihood of us believing them?

    The answers Faith provided were superficial and only created more questions. The answers to those were problematic in that they only led to conflict.

    There are numerous directions to take the conversation. I’ve been working on a writing project for some months to put my own path into order. I’m considering to publish it, and if you think it would be helpful for you and readers to learn another worldview (not convince of disbelief), I’m happy to start putting something together. What do you think?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Victor Uyanwanne December 31, 2015 / 12:07 am

      Jason, nice to have you back here. Not being true to the discussion we had as published here would have amounted to misrepresentation. And I wouldn’t do that!

      Sorry to hear about your wife’s cancer. I hope she fully recovered. And your friend’s child too…my heart goes out to them.

      Concerning all the issues you raised, please allow me to respond later. For I now I am exhausted from the day’s work and so in dire need of a good sleep. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jason Philo December 31, 2015 / 12:21 am

        No worries. I wasn’t expecting a diatribe. 🙂

        Rest well.

        Like

        • Victor Uyanwanne December 31, 2015 / 2:00 pm

          Hello Jason, please further to my earlier response to your comment, here are my additional thoughts as I promised. The issues you raised were many so I take it that my (usual) long response here will not bore you.

          I really appreciate the fact that you commented on the initial post. Our exchanges so far have turned that post into one of the most viewed single item on this blog. I have you to thank for it.

          Jason, I know by experience that (Christian) faith has answers; answers to issues of this life and the life hereafter. The issue is that sometimes, the answers don’t please the sensual person. More so, the Christian living is a walk by faith, not by sight. That’s why so many people do miss it.

          Life can be so hard sometimes that we begin to question the love of God. But it doesn’t invalidate the love. In the midst of our crisis, God promises to be with us all the way. And He comforts us through the Holy Spirit, whom we know as our comforter. God never promised us a storm- free voyage in life, but He did promise a safe-landing.

          With regard to the issue of unanswered questions you had, I concede that not all questions can be resolved on this side of life. But I will tell you that there are sufficient answers in the Bible to refresh an unbiased mind. Even the fact that we may never know everything in this life is also clearly stated in the Bible.  But “He is at peace, whose mind is stayed on God.”

          Jason, except you are a NASA staff, I do not see why you had to worry if other life exists outside the earth or what ‘they’ believe ‘over there’ for that matter (Pun intended please). As for me, I am satisfied with Biblical explanation that God gave the earth to man to inhabit. The (unproven) possibility of life existing in other parts of the universe, could never stop be from believing in God, the Father of Jesus Christ.

          The other thousands of faith you referred to exist because human beings, irrespective of geographical locations, have always felt the need to know “God”. So in a bid to meet this need, they invented various ways to try reaching the “God” they somehow “felt’ in their inner enclaves. This was what gave (and is still giving) rise to the multiplicity of faiths you talked about.

          Sadly, these efforts of man inventing ways to please or reach God, have, and will, never be able to find the true God. That’s why there is so much frustration in religion, as you might have possibly noticed.

          But you see Jason, Christianity in the truest sense of it is not a call to religion. Like I explained before, it is a call to a Relationship – a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. You may ask, what’s the difference? Simple, “Religion is man’s attempt to reach God, Whereas Christianity is God reaching man.”

          Religion is doing all it can to try to find God. But God is saying, “I have already revealed myself through my Son, Jesus Christ. Believe in Him and you will have an eternal relationship with Me.” This is not a thing we can grasp by our five senses, Jason, but by our faith.

          Finally, you asked what I thought about your work-in-process project to publish your worldview…. I would say, you are free to publish any of your thoughts or research findings. (By the way, does it really matter what I think about it? I doubt!). I read for information, but when it comes to finding/knowing God, the Bible remains the most authoritative voice.  

          Thank you for your time Jason.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus January 3, 2016 / 3:18 pm

    Thank you Victor, a Loving response for Jason with much Truth.

    Loosing my 7 Babies, 3 were stillborn girls and the rest of them at nearly 5 mths gestation was extremely heartbreaking for me because I had no Faith in Jesus, I had been deceived as a young Teenager that I came from an Ape and Jesus was just made up (see link below) the Joy I had concerning my Children when I became a Christian was overwhelming, because I knew when I did that we will be reunited and that they have never known suffering only Joy and this is confirmed in Scripture, what I lost as an Atheist was returned to me as a Christian, my precious Babies. Satan as tried to rob me of this assurance but God continues to confirm it. He is Love and can do no evil or even plan it for us.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the Children of men.

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of Peace and not of evil, to give you a Future and a Hope.

    Teenage years – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/my-journey-continues-the-teenage-years/

    Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

