A Broken Piece of Heart

Shattered piece of heart

You said you loved me dearly.
I thought you meant it truly.
So I gave you my heart wholly.
But you had it broken in pieces.

It was almost getting too late
Before I knew you were not so different
From the many others before you:
Self-seeking, lustful and deceitful.

You did me more harm than good
You left me worse than you met me
With scars so wide and so deep
Till I became a shadow of myself.

For many years, I went about my life
With a broken piece of heart, bleeding.
No one could fill the great void I felt
Or mend the awfully shattered part of me.

But then I met the greatest Friend and Lover
Who truly loved me as I am, unconditionally.
The One who gave up His life for me
And gave me a brand new heart too.

 

Photo credits: Crosscards.com

 

©CopyRight 2016| Victor Uyanwanne

19 thoughts on “A Broken Piece of Heart

  1. chuks June 1, 2016 / 7:53 am

    Nice poem. Yes! its only God that heals the broken heart. As a potter, He can remould every piece of broken heart.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Victor such heart wrenching words, they moved me greatly, I too have suffered from a broken heart and remember many broken promises but Jesus constantly reminded me that He Loved me and still does and yes even after I broke His Heart but He forgave me and I too must forgive others even those whom I Trusted fully and yet they left me broken in pieces. How wonderful that Jesus restores our broken hearts and lives as you shared.

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner June 5, 2016 / 7:34 pm

      Thanks Anne for the comment. It wasn’t a personal experience; I wrote as inspired.
      Thanks be to God who heals our broken hearts.

      Like

    • VictorsCorner July 22, 2016 / 10:54 am

      I have read your write-up on love.I found it very thoughtful too; you made valid points.

      It is true that many people misunderstand love. That’s why it seems there is problem in love.

      People will see that love is a beautiful thing if we show them, or live by, the love of God.

      Liked by 1 person

      • kohleyes321 July 22, 2016 / 4:54 pm

        Yes, love of God is so unconditional that no matter how sinful we are it is easy to surrender to him and he always accepts us. Thanks Victor for your comments and reading my posts…:-)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. michaeljfite September 2, 2016 / 6:09 am

    God knows how to heal our broken hearts when we give Him the opportunity. It can be difficult when a person feels like they know themselves better than God or anything else. This is a very touching poem and I like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner September 2, 2016 / 6:32 am

      You are right Michael. Thanks for reading. So glad you like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

