You Are Not A Friend, If …

You are not a friend

If you take pleasure in celebrating my errors more than my excellence, you are not a friend.

If you delight in talking down on me and you never get to talk about my good qualities, you are not a friend.

If you see me on the road to hell and you secretly wish that I go through it to the end, you are not a friend.

If you rejoice when I am sad and you are unhappy when I succeed, you are not a friend.

If you paint me well in my face and you stab me at my back, you are not a friend.

If my joy makes you sad and my cry makes you smile, you are not a friend.

If you believe when they tell you I am bad and you doubt when they say I am good, you are not a friend.

If you love me when I see you and you hate me when I don’t see you, you are not a friend.

If you stay close when the weather is fair, but you run away when I’m in a storm, you are not a friend.

If you say ‘cheers’ in my face and you say ‘jeers’ at my back, you are not a friend.

If you call me when you need me and you don’t answer when I call you, you are not a friend.

If you wish that I fall so that I cannot rise above you, you are not a friend.

If you hate to love me or love to hate me you are not a friend.

If you always tell me sweet lies instead of the bitter truth, you are not a friend.

If you see nothing good in me and neither think greatness of me, you are not a friend.

If you see me take poison and you urge me on with pleasure, you are not a friend.

If you vilify me in order to make you appear a hero, you are not a friend.

If you lie against me to make you look good, you are not a friend.

If you share in all my secrets, but you never share any of yours with me, you are not a friend.

If you think ill of me and never wishes me well, you are not a friend.

Someone is not your friend, if ……?

Share your thoughts in the comment section.

16 thoughts on “You Are Not A Friend, If …

  1. dettinger47 November 5, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    Very insightful, Victor. This poem causes me to examine myself to see if I am guilty of not being a good and proper friend to those around me.

    Liked by 3 people

    • VictorsCorner November 5, 2016 / 9:40 pm

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I had to check myself too. We all learn every day. And there is always room for improvement.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. rolerrol November 7, 2016 / 2:42 pm

    At face value one can think this doesn’t apply to them but the truth is, it does. I have to constantly check myself concerning being a real friend. About a month ago God revealed my heart condition and I had to repent. Naturally, we are selfish but that is not who God is. He is loving and wants the best for us! I have to constantly work at being a real friend, celebrating their victories with them, being with them in their sadness and pain…..it’s only by His grace that I live a selfless life…..
    Great post Victor.

    Rolain

    Liked by 4 people

    • VictorsCorner November 7, 2016 / 2:52 pm

      I appreciate your comment. It applies to me too. But we should do better whenever we identify our shortcomings. That’s how we grow in the first place.

      God wants us to be authentic friends…. Rejoicing with those who rejoice and morning with those who morn. Only true friends can do it.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Roseline November 7, 2016 / 4:42 pm

    You have said it all Victor! Well written

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus November 8, 2016 / 12:54 am

    A powerful message Victor for our need to have True Friendships instead of Saccharine sweet counterfeits. I also believe that True Friendship is always a Two Way Street not a Dead End, we are to give and receive as we do with Blogging Friendships. I remember what Jesus said about His Friendship with us, it is always based on Truth and obedience to His Commandments……

    John 15:14-15 Ye are my Friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth I call you not Servants; for the Servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you Friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.(KJV)

    Greater than our problems is what causes them and one thing is our unwillingness to reach out honestly and ask for help both from The Lord and our Friends. And greater than our own solutions is our willingness to reach out and share honestly and receive gratefully. We are to confess our Sins to each other and pray for each other, carry each others burdens, rejoice and cry with each other.

    Unexpressed admiration or Love encourages no one and expressed Correction when done for Love and in Love discourages others from continuing in error and helps them mature in Christ Jesus without the Slavery of Sin.

    Our closest Friends were once Strangers before they walked into our Heart.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Anuli January 8, 2017 / 10:31 pm

    I love this. Would you be interested in a guest post? I myself am working on something relating to friendship and mental health.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

