Lord Deliver Me From My Self

Doing the will of God

Lord, no matter how I feel
Help me to always do Your will.
The only way I can show You love
Is to obey your laws from above.

I often want to go my way
But in the process I go astray.
So Lord deliver me from myself
I am better off with Your good Self.

In every of my life’s unfolding story
Let my eyes see Your true glory.
And no matter what I go through
Help me to stay faithful to You.

Even when the storms of life rage on
Give me the needed power to move on.
I trust You are up to something
‘Cos without You I can do nothing.

It’s written that as you’re with Jesus
So You promised to always be with us.
Let the wind blow hard and rough
Your strength has made me tough.

I believe all things’ll work out good
Because by me You firmly stood.
In You, I could never be a loser
You’ve made me more than a winner.

©CopyRight 2016 | Victor Uyanwanne

17 thoughts on “Lord Deliver Me From My Self

  1. dettinger47 December 5, 2016 / 8:36 pm

    Well said, Victor. What you wrote in this poem should be the desire of every Christians every day of his or her life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner December 5, 2016 / 8:53 pm

      I appreciate your comment sir. Thank you very much indeed.

      Like

  2. chuks December 7, 2016 / 7:29 am

    Nice poem. I like the lyrical quality of the ode. Indeed, without God we can do nothing, but with Him, we can do all thing through Christ that strengthens us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Julie Sheppard aka Reiko Chinen December 27, 2016 / 4:29 am

    The title you chose for this caught my attention because I have come to the knowledge that the person who has done the most damage to my life was myself. Yes terrible things have happened to me but I recall a day back when I was in my early 20’s and staying in a motel on PCH. As I entered my room I heard a voice ask me ‘How long are you going to let them still hurt you?’ Alone and confused I responded, ‘Nobody is hurting me right now.’ The voice continued;, ‘Every time you do those drugs or give your body away, they are still hurting you. You cannot run from what has been done and as long as you are hurting yourself because of what they did to you, they are still hurting you.’
    I was not raised in a Christian home, but I knew who was talking to me. I remember this day well because it was the day God delivered me from addictions to drugs. Yes I was raised with drugs all around me and it was my own family that introduced me to using drugs as well as other things. Yet it I was the one still doing the drugs and putting myself in bad situation after the next. I had no respect for myself nor did I care if I lived. I just wanted to numb the pain unfortunately I was only hurting myself worse. It took God speaking to me and I condensed the conversation but His voice reaching out to me with His love changed me and I am ever grateful for this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner December 27, 2016 / 9:15 pm

      Thank you so much Julie for sharing your personal story. So good you recognised the voice that spoke to you and you responded positively. May God preserve your testimony.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

