5 Reasons I Could Not Have Been Single For Life And Be Satisfied

Gentle warning: This post is extremely personal. But don’t take it personal.

Victor Uyanwanne on who he could not have been single, satisfied and happy.

In the previous post, I stated the fact that some people are single for life and satisfied. But I went on to explore the idea that I could not have been unmarried for life and be completely fulfiled.

My well-thought out humble conclusion then was that:

As for me, I see marriage as a calling I had to embrace because I could never have been totally satisfied with a lifelong celibacy.

To put things in a clearer perspective, I am using this post to advance five reasons I believe that I could not have been completely satisfied if I had remained single for life.

Like I stated in the first part of this post, this is a personal experience I decided to share with you. So do not be offended if your own experience or perspective is radically different from mine.

Living unmarried for life or getting married, which one do you prefer?

1) Marriage is my calling

Marriage is part of God’s general plan for humanity. I believe strongly in it, and I always will.

I may have many ‘callings’ in life, but celibacy is not one of them. I made up my mind about that long before I eventually walked the altar to say, “I do.”

Marriage is honourable. Most people will not disagree with that! So embracing marriage means embracing an honourable institution established by God Himself.

God made it possible for me and many other countless people to be married… And except you feel called to a lifelong celibacy, I believe you should be open to marriage too. Don’t you think so?

2) Two are better than one

Marriage gives a veritable opportunity for a beautiful synergy in life between two people who are divinely bound in a holy union – a kind that singlehood does not offer me.

I reckoned that I am stronger with a spouse for life than without one. The total union of two separate people to become one in marriage unleashes the power of synergy, which is in line with God’s plan and purpose.

Why would I choose to go along in life as a ‘lone ranger’ when I could legally have a great person of the opposite sex to go along with me all the way? Like I said in the previous post, I prefer my “married me” to my “single me.”

Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up.  Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves… Ecclesiates 4:9-12.

Marriage is my legitimate opportunity to build my own family as God intended, so why should I flunk the choice?

Sexual expression

3) Sexual fulfilment

Apostle Paul once declared in unequivocal terms that, “It is better to get married than to remain unmarried and continually burn with passion.” That’s one of the frankest statements in God’s word as far as managing  your sexual affection as a single person is concerned.

Christian values teach us that the only kind of sex approved by God is marital sex. So any act of sex engaged in outside the walls of marriage amounts to living contrary to the will of God.

I am aware that many people will not be comfortable with me saying that. But I have to say it because it is not my idea but God’s. And God knows best!

In the light of that, it means that as a single man who wanted to please God in this area, I would not engage in sex except I was legally married.

However, I definitely would not be able to live without sexual expression for the rest of my life, without disobeying God. You can talk about exercising self-control, but let us leave that lesson for another day.

Let us read what the Bible says here:

But I say to the unmarried and to the widows, [that as a practical matter] it is good if they remain [single and entirely devoted to the Lord] as I am. But if they do not have [sufficient] self-control, they should marry; for it is better to marry than to burn with passion .
1 Corinthians 7:8‭-‬9 AMP

Early enough in life, I learnt that both premarital and extramarital sexual experiences are not part of God’s perfect plan for His children. So I had to choose the committed marriage option to meet my sexual needs.

Any thing outside that would have led me to committing avoidable sexual sin, which has its own inescapable consequences.

Sexual sin is self-destructive. It’s like a fire. A fire in the fireplace can do you a lot of good. A fire in the living room will mess up your whole house! And that’s precisely the case with our sexuality. It is a fire to be kindled only within the fireplace of marriage. Outside of that safe enclosure, it can do all kinds of emotional and physical damage. Single And Satisfied – Tony Evans

4) The need to have children

I do not want only sexual satisfaction by getting married, I want to produce offsprings too.

Remaining unmarried for life would have meant that I would not have been a parent, except of course I became one out of wedlock. Not even in my dreams did I ever consider that an option to take!

Marriage has afforded me the great privilege of having my own legal children. And I am loving it…

I am aware some people get married and decide on their own not to have children. But that is very unusual in my part of the world. (Apologies to the couple who are trying so hard to have their own children but to no avail yet).

I believe also that it is part of God’s will for my life to have children.

Lo, children [are] an heritage of the LORD: [and] the fruit of the womb [is his] reward. As arrows [are] in the hand of a mighty man; so [are] children of the youth. Happy [is] the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate. Psalms 127:3-5.

5) One person to love for life.

For the most part of my single life, I always longed for the time I would get committed to one lady for life – totally and completely. To love and to cherish her for the rest of my life.

Marriage provides me with the best chance to fulfill that longing. In marriage, I have a trusted companion to love and to cherish for the rest of my life.

So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself. For no man ever yet hated his own flesh; but nourisheth and cherisheth it, even as the Lord the church… For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall be joined unto his wife, and they two shall be one flesh. Ephesians 5:28-32.

If you are presently living single for life or in a committed marriage, please let me know what you think about the post.

©CopyRight 2017 | Victor Uyanwanne

10 thoughts on “5 Reasons I Could Not Have Been Single For Life And Be Satisfied

    • VictorsCorner March 25, 2017 / 4:57 am

      Hello Gadol, I am not quite sure which part of the post your comment relates to. Would you mind being more explicit? Thank you.

      Like

  1. Barbara Fisher March 26, 2017 / 2:37 pm

    Excellent post, Victor! I am sharing on my Facebook page. I totally agree with your 5 reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner March 26, 2017 / 2:40 pm

      Thanks alot Barbara for reading, commenting and Sharing. Remain blessed.

      Like

  2. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus March 30, 2017 / 8:53 pm

    I agree with you Victor, Marriage is the only way when we seek completeness, God said it is not good for Man to be alone and Woman too need Male Companionship, Support and Leadership, even if some may say; they keep warm with a doona, a heater or a blanket but unless called to be Celebrant, Marriage is full of Love and warmth that can only be found in Marriage when both are bonded together by the Lord.

    Yes for a Husband and Wife to be really Close they have to be Close to Jesus first, sadly today many seek what cannot be found without Him, as He tells us ………

    John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am The Way, The Truth and The Life, no man cometh unto the Father but by me. (KJV)

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

