What Is Your Greatest Joy In Life?

Reason to glory on earth
Greatest joy in life

What is your greatest joy in life? Would you mind giving an honest answer to that question right now?

Before you continue reading this article, pause for a moment. And with your eyes closed, ponder a bit on the above question.

Once you have come up with an answer you are convinced about, hold it up against the brilliant light of the Scripture quoted below. (The purpose of doing that is to ensure that what you hold as your greatest joy on earth properly aligns with what God says should be your greatest joy).

Thus saith the LORD, Let not the wise man glory in his wisdom, neither let the mighty man glory in his might, let not the rich man glory in his riches:

But let him that glorieth glory in this, that he understandeth and knoweth me, that I am the LORD which exercise lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness, in the earth: for in these things I delight, saith the LORD.
Jeremiah 9:23-24.

From the above passage of the Scriptures, you can see at least three reasons to glory in life:

  • Intelligence – The wise man glories in his wisdom;
  • Strength – The mighty one glories in his might;
  • Wealth – The rich man glories in his riches.

But God wants the reason for your joy to be beyond the fact that you possess some high level of wisdom, intellectual power, physical strength, wealth or achievements in life.

He wants you to rejoice in the fact that you know Him as “the LORD which exercise lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness, in the earth.”

If your greatest joy is based on the things of the world, then your joy will be temporary. But a joy based on your knowing God will have no ending.

I first began to perceive the truths of Jeremiah 9:23-24 at a crucial point in time during my undergraduate days.

One mid-morning like that while reading my Bible, the scripture quoted above literally leapt off the pages of the Bible right into my heart with a force so meaningful that I was left without any iota of doubt on the fundamental reason I should glory in life.

I was doing relatively well in school then, despite the harsh academic environment of that time. My grades were moving up against all odds. I thought that was a good reason to praise God.

“Yes, it was,” you might want to agree with me. But God had to put things in better perspectives for me. He graciously showed me that there was a greater reason I had to rejoice than academic progress.

Now I know better… so I am sharing it with you, with the hope that you will see some light in it too.

As a disciple of Jesus Christ, your greatest joy in life should not be based on the fact that you passed your exams, you got promoted at work, you bought a dream car, moved into your dream home, married your dream spouse, or had some other great goals you have accomplished.

Those are not bad reasons to be joyful. But your joy has to be based on something of eternal significance and not on things of ephemeral value. It has to be based on your relationship with God, not on things of the world.

For emphasis sake, l will have to say it again:

  • Your greatest joy should be that you know the Lord.
  • Your greatest joy should be the joy of your salvation.
  • Your greatest joy should be that your name is written in the Book of Life.

Jesus validated this position during one of the feedback conversations He had with His disciples as recorded in the Gospels.

According to the account in Luke chapter 10, Jesus had sent out seventy-two of His followers to go preach the gospel of the Kingdom around the neighbouring towns and villages. These specially appointed men went out and accomplished the evangelistic mandate given to them by their Master.

More so, they returned with joyful testimonies, declaring that demons were subjected to them in the name of Jesus.

The seventy-two returned with joy and said, “Lord, even the demons submit to us in your name.”

You would have thought that the identified reason these rookie evangelists were filled with joy was good enough for them to rejoice as they did. But Jesus raised the bar when He responded to them saying, “…do not rejoice that the spirits submit to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.”

“That your name is written in Heaven should be your greatest joy,” Jesus says.

Therefore, whatever you are able to accomplish on earth – whether in spiritual or secular things – should not be your greatest joy. Neither should your joy be in what this world can offer you. Rather your greatest joy should be that your name is written in the book of life in Heaven.

If you are not sure your name is there already in the book of life, you can get it in by accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour now. There is no other way to achieve that.

What is your greatest joy in life? Share your views.

©CopyRight 2017 | Victor Uyanwanne

26 thoughts on “What Is Your Greatest Joy In Life?

  1. Lady Jay April 5, 2017 / 11:20 pm

    Awesome! I was sad until i remembered my joy is in the Lord. Thank you for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mrs. owoyemi Mercy April 6, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    The greatest joy one can have or experience in life is in Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner April 6, 2017 / 9:00 pm

      You are right Mercy. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

  3. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus April 6, 2017 / 8:54 pm

    As we know Victor God is not talking about Godly Wisdom in Jeremiah 9:23-24 which is the Principle thing but earthly wisdom which as you said if our greatest joy is based on the things of the world, then our joy will be temporary. But a Joy based on your knowing God will have no ending.

    Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the Principal Thing; therefore get Wisdom: and with all thy getting get Understanding.

    When I asked and received God’s Wisdom and Empowering by The Holy Spirit (1Corinthians2:9-16) which none of us were Born with, it was than that I understood God’s Truth and in understanding my inner Joy was in knowing Him as He is and that is “Love” and so He can do no evil and also with knowing Jesus who is my Best Friend as my Lord and Saviour I had Salvation and because I do my Name is written in the Book of Life and I will be Perfected into the image of Jesus who is also Love and that I will no longer Sin.

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner April 7, 2017 / 5:35 am

      Yes Anne, you are correct. Godly wisdom is the principal thing.
      But we are not to boast or glory in the fact that we have it. Rather we glory in the God that made it available to us, that we know Him as our Lord and He knows us as His children. Regards.

      Like

      • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus April 7, 2017 / 2:46 pm

        I rejoice in all the gifts God has given me Victor and give Heart felt Thanks for them and as God asks us to do I also share them with others but not with Worldly pride but with Godly Pride as shown in the Scriptures below, you no doubt know the difference Victor but I have found some who don’t.

        The two types of Pride, Godly Pride and worldly or fleshy pride.

        What Worldly pride is…

        Mark 7:22 Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness:

        1 John 2:15- 17 Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

        What Godly Pride is …

        Galatians 6: 4 Each one should understand their own actions. Then they can take Pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to others.

        2 Corinthians 8:24 Show these men the proof of your Love and the reason for our Pride in you, so that the Churches can see it.

        2 Corinthians 5:11-12 Because we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade others. It is plain to God what we are and I hope it is also plain to your conscience. We are giving you an opportunity to take Pride in us not trying to commend ourselves again to you so that you have an answer for those who take Pride in what is seen rather than in what is in the Heart.

        Romans 11:13b I take Pride in my Ministry.

        As a Christian I also take Godly Pride in my Ministry to those who are in darkness and rejoice with those who are not as I’m sure you do too Victor.

        Also Victor if we believe we have God’s Wisdom having asked for it, which He tells us to do when we lack it and I know I was not Born with it or the empowering of The Holy Spirit, when we do have His wisdom we know we have His Truth and it will be confirmed in Scripture, if not it is our own understanding.

        Colossians 2:2-3 That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in Love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; In whom are hid all the treasures of Wisdom and Knowledge.

        When we have God’s Wisdom Victor we also have His Knowledge, Reasoning and Logic even as we are still learning and we can have assurance that what we share is right and this is not arrogance or fleshy pride but is walking in obedience God tells us not to doubt His Wisdom and we are to stand up firm in His Truth even if it is rejected by others and we are rejected too. When we are empowered by The Holy Spirit we know God’s Heart of Love and we will also know His good will for us as shown very clearly in 1Corinthians2:9-16

        Christian Love Victor in our Unity in Christ Jesus – Anne.

        Like

        • VictorsCorner April 7, 2017 / 7:09 pm

          I agree with you that you can rejoice in your God-given gifts, more so giving glory to God.

          Thanks for the explanation on godly wisdom versus worldly wisdom as well as the scriptures on pride that you quoted. They are quite insightful. I believe that my readers will benefit from it like I did. Thanks granny Anne for the wonderful contribution.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus April 8, 2017 / 12:35 am

          So why the Change of my Name Victor? although most Children in my Neighborhood and those in my Funday School and even some of their Parents call me Grannie Annie, which I love but you never have before.

          I do use Grannie Annie sometimes on my Blog so I can get copies of Comments etc or when as happened again recently, a Blogger who is claiming to know God is rude and shows disrespect by ignoring or deleting my Comments. I never ignore intentionally Comments and the only time I delete them or don’t Moderate and approve of them is if they , Mock God, abuse me or call me names or they are Spam, which includes free advertising..

          Yes I’m over 60 and God tells us to show respect to our Seniors even to stand up when they enter a room but don’t worry Victor, you don’t have feel the need to stand up when I leave a Comment, just a nod of extreme respect at the Monitor Screen will do. Lol

          So young Man why did you change my Name to Grannie Annie ?

          Liked by 1 person

        • VictorsCorner April 8, 2017 / 11:18 am

          You got me laughing out loud as I read through your comment. And I hope you understand!

          Of course, Anne, you know I respect you a lot. That I called you ‘granny Anne’ in my comment is an extension of that respect. No offence intended at all!

          I remember I have called you granny Anne before. For instance, I did that in the post marking my 2 years of blogging while commending you and also recommending your blog to my readers. I am curious as to why you haven’t ‘picked’ it up until now.

          To be honest, Anne, it feels awkward sometimes having to address you by only your first name all the time. It seems that internet affords us some opportunities to get away with some valuable forms of courtesy we might have extended to each other if we were physically present together. I am not making excuses, though!

          You see, Anne, in my part of the world (Nigeria to be precise) we don’t call elderly people( including mummies and grannies) by their first names, because it is considered disrespectful. On this platform, I happen to have been referring to you by just your first name. If my mum was still alive, she might have spanked me for doing that (pun intended).

          Anyway, kindly clarify to me how best you want to be addressed. I hope that will help both of us.

          Thanks as always for engaging me.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus April 8, 2017 / 12:25 pm

          I wasn’t offended Victor just wondering why the name change, I honestly didn’t notice that you had called me Grannie Annie before but I’m happy to be called whatever your comfortable with and thank you for the respect you always show me, it’s very much appreciated.

          Jesus called the Older woman His Mothers, so there is another option Victor you can call me Annie Mum!

          Matthew 12:46-50 While He yet talked to the people behold His Mother and His brethren stood without desiring to speak with Him. Then one said unto Him, Behold Thy Mother and Thy brethren stand without desiring to speak with Thee. But He answered and said unto him that told Him, Who is my Mother? and who are my brethren? And He stretched forth His hand toward His disciples and said; Behold my Mother and my brethren! For whosoever shall do the will of my Father which is in Heaven the same is my Brother and Sister and Mother.(KJV)

          Well dear Son, they say your as old as you feel, which means right now I’m 108, yes it’s time for bed, I had a late night last night and I didn’t have my Granny Nap today.

          Thinking of you Always Victor with Christian Love and Respect – Anne.

          Liked by 1 person

        • VictorsCorner April 8, 2017 / 12:43 pm

          Thanks Annie Mum for your magnanimity. The new option is noted… already in use. Smiles. Best Regards.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Barbara Fisher April 8, 2017 / 12:35 am

    Victor – I loved this. Yes, I am humbled and do have a joy unspeakable that my name is written in the Book of Life. Ephesians 1:4 is mind boggling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner April 8, 2017 / 10:17 am

      Yes Barbara, that’s good to know. Congratulations.

      It is my privilege too to have my name written in the Book of Life. But some people say they can’t be sure if their name is there or not until they get to Heaven.

      What would you say to such people?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Barbara Fisher April 9, 2017 / 10:51 pm

        I would point them to I John 5 which tells us how we know that we are his because we believe in Jesus Christ, that he is born of God, that we obey his commandments, and love other believers.

        I would tell them to repent and believe in the Lord Jesus. Cast yourselves before him and beg him to save you. He says that those who come to him he will in no wise cast out. John 6: 37

        Liked by 1 person

        • VictorsCorner April 10, 2017 / 6:17 am

          I understand your points Barbara, but then these give rise to another question: can we keep all the commandments?

          The obvious answer will be No! We still have to go by believing in the sacrifice of Jesus, as you said Barbara, accepting His righteousness in place of our self-righteous, relying on His perfect obedience…

          The Spirit then bears the witness in our spirit that we are the Children of God. This is the assurance of our salvation, and the assurance that we will make Heaven too.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. rolerrol April 14, 2017 / 7:27 am

    Great word Victor.

    Our joy should be that the Lord knows us and our names are written in the book of life.
    I loved this word. It’s so clear how we are to live!

    Rolain

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

