So You Are A Life Coach?

Are you a life coach?
What does a life coach do?

Just like everyone else, I have encountered many kinds of coaches in my lifetime. And they come in different colours and shades towards a given end.

I am sure you remember your math coach, dance coach, music coach, swimming coach, basketball coach, football coach, chess coach, business coach and any other kind of coach you might have come across in your life.

As far as I know, people who answer to any of the coaches above possess some identifiable, specific, special skills and experiences with which they impart other people who learn from them.

I do understand those ones…But I am a bit curious about those who call themselves a life coach. Those are the people this post seeks to understand better.

A life coach!

So you are a life coach? That sounds too enormous a title to me, and I am making some efforts to wrap my mind around it. That’s why I am asking these questions.

Are you a life coach? Can anyone, including you, fill that shoe properly?

Coaches are experts in something. Are you an expert in life? Have you mastered all about life itself in all areas to qualify as a life coach?

Can you give impeccably useful direction, guidance, instruction, training, support, to anyone and everyone in life that comes to you for help? Do you have the global picture?

Life coach…

Are you really comfortable using that term to refer to who you are and what you do? Can you let me into your world please?

Just how did you come about being refered to as a life coach? Is it a divine calling or a training, or both?

So you are a life coach, or is it just a nomenclature? Are you well rounded in all areas of life? Or shouldn’t you be?

Who certified you as a life coach? Is it God? If it is not Him, then who is the mortal that can take up that responsibility?

Speak to me! What exactly do you mean when you call yourself a life coach? I ask because I do not want to misunderstand you anymore.

You are a life coach? Is that not what they call you? Or am I the one that did not hear well?

Have you known, seen, experienced and understood life in all its ramifications? Have you been to the highest heights or descended to the lowest depths, and covered all the breadths of life?

Please don’t say I am pushing it too hard on you. I am not… I just want to know about you.

Can you help people in all areas of their lives? Can you meet people’s needs at the “spirit, soul and body” levels?

Can you excellently direct people in business, in politics, in religious, in sports, in health, in education, in entertainment, in aviation, in construction, in computing, in communication, in relationships, etc? Doesn’t being a life coach entail all of the above?

I just don’t understand you when you say you are a life coach. Should I say you might be a coach in an aspect of life and not life as a whole?

May be you should come to my aid and explain to me exactly what you mean when you say you are a life coach.

I am waiting…

©CopyRight 2017 | Victor Uyanwanne

12 thoughts on “So You Are A Life Coach?

  1. Edmond Sanganyado April 25, 2017 / 4:28 pm

    I fail to understand the concept of life coach too. I coached a Chemistry Olympiad team because of my qualifications in Chemistry. But I can’t coach anyone on life; the best I can be is a friend.

    Liked by 3 people

    • VictorsCorner April 25, 2017 / 4:56 pm

      Thanks for the çomment Edmond. That shows I am not alone in wondering what being a life coach is all about.

      Of course, I know you are a chemistry expert. So you are very well qualified to be a chemistry coach. No qualms with that!

      You qualify as a blogging coach too because some of us who follow your erstwhile blog learnt a lot about the rudiments of blog writing from you. So I can call you a blog coach too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus April 26, 2017 / 9:33 am

    Wow Victor ” A Life Coach” Hmmmm could they please explain what goes up and never comes down and how can I stop it from going up or make it go down again?

    Annie’s needing an answer ????

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner April 26, 2017 / 1:06 pm

      We are on the same boat, Anne. I have plenty questions too, as you saw in the post. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus April 27, 2017 / 11:56 pm

        I was really just having a joke Victor and referring to our Age going up and never coming down, after all they are claiming as you said to know it all but we know as confirmed in the Scripture below that we have only One Spiritual Teacher who is Jesus Christ and only One Spiritual Father and They with The Holy Ghost are One in The Godhead or Trinity as we call them today. Jesus leads us into all Truth, He is our Good Shepherd.

        Matthew23:8-10 But you, do not be called ‘Rabbi’; for One is your Teacher The Christ and you are all brethren. Do not call anyone on earth your Father for One is your Father, He who is in Heaven. And do not be called Teachers; for One is your Teacher The Christ.

        Blessings – Annie Mum

        Like

  3. definingyellow July 15, 2017 / 1:20 am

    Hello! So i do understand your questions. I am only 20 years old but i know that life coaching is what i want to do and im still working on finding the answers to your questions, however i can share what i do know.
    There is not one life coach for everyone, and most life coaches are not experts in all parts of life, each has their own niche. It could be in relationships, careers, finances, or mostly anything for that matter that someone thinks they need some help with. Life coaches are to be motivational and to help you realize the or find things in life that you might not have been able to figure out without a little push. I guess that’s a small taste of what a life coach does.
    I highly suggest watching the Tony Robbins “I am not your guru” for a great example.
    I hope this helped you at least a little!

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner July 15, 2017 / 8:00 am

      Thank you for reading and commenting. From what you said, I think you answered the question very well. No one person could possibly be a coach in everything to everyone.
      As you rightly stated, there are financial coaches, relationship coaches, etc. That’s the perspective office​ these​ post as well. Thank you for the recommended book, I will check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. kessylarae August 22, 2017 / 3:19 pm

    I think a true life coach is someone who God has gifted in directing people toward his truth in making life choices and interacting socially. For example, I have the gifts of mercy and discernment… these paired together make a reasonably good counselor as long as I am in the Word. I think an honest appraisal of what Life Coach really means is a counselor who does not have formal credentials. The American Association of Christian Counselors actually has a course for Life Coaches… it is a middle ground for people who might not feel comfortable opening up to a professional, but who would confide in a close friend.

    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.js


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.js

    Liked by 1 person

    • VictorsCorner August 22, 2017 / 5:41 pm

      I agree with your explanation. I think you provided a fresh perspective different from everyone else’s. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

