ON TOP OF MY GAME

ON TOP OF MY GAME
By Victor Uyanwanne

I have to be on top of my game
You can call me by my name
It doesn’t mean I am proud
You know I just have to keep aflame
Like you, I prefer to have fortune and fame
Than live in abject penury and shame

Please don’t leave your game to chance
In every show, put in your best dance

Yes, I want to lead the good pack
And I don’t want to live in a shack
Please don’t blame me at all
It is neither yours, nor my fault
You know Life is very difficult
Not by chance but by default

Please don’t leave your game to chance
In every show, put in your best dance
Always be the best you can be
Live your life to the very full
But try not to be so boastful
And whatever you are, be grateful

Be determined to have your needs met
But never undermine the needs of others

You should mean life like business
That doesn’t mean you should play ruthless
Say what you mean and mean what you say
You know the going is already getting rough
To keep going, you got to really get tough
Be thorough, but no unnecessary show off

Spread out your tentacles, widen your dragnet
Be determined to have your needs met
But never undermine the needs of others
Always put in your very best labour
Do it with all your heart and fervor
Hopefully, you will be met with uncommon favour.

 

©Copyright 2015│Victor Uyanwanne

2 thoughts on “ON TOP OF MY GAME

  1. I can see Victor your concern in your Poem that we seek fulfillment without becoming proud and this is True and when we focus on God and not worldly pursuits we don’t do this instead we have Godly Pride as we see below and we have assurance that God will provide all our needs including enjoyment in Life.

    There are two types of Pride, Godly Pride and worldly or fleshy pride.

    What Worldly pride is…

    Mark 7:22 Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness:

    1 John 2:15- 17 Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the Love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

    What Godly Pride is …

    Galatians 6: 4 Each one should understand their own actions. Then they can take Pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to others.

    2 Corinthians 8:24 show these men the proof of your Love and the reason for our Pride in you, so that the Churches can see it.

    2 Corinthians 5:11-12 Because we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade others. It is plain to God what we are, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience. We are giving you an opportunity to take Pride in us not trying to commend ourselves again to you , so that you have an answer for those who take Pride in what is seen rather than in what is in the heart.

    Romans 11:13b I take Pride in my Ministry.

    As a Christian I also take Godly Pride in my Ministry to those who are in darkness, and rejoice with those who are not as I’m sure you do too Victor.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Victor Uyanwanne Dec 7, 2015 / 7:16 am

      Thank you Anne as always. You comments on pride are well noted.

      I particularly like the godly pride part. It reminds me of 1 Cor 1:13 which says that “If you want to boast, boast only about the LORD.”

      I think that’s where the difference is. Once again thank you.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.