THIS IS HOW FOUR PEOPLE DRIVE A CAR AT THE SAME TIME

THIS IS HOW FOUR PEOPLE DRIVE A CAR AT THE SAME TIME

By Victor Uyanwanne

Victor Uyanwanne Family When Newman Turned One year
Victor Uyanwanne Family When Newman Turned One year

The fifth anniversary of my marriage is still some five months away. Yet within these few years of being married to my beautiful wife and having two lovely kids, I have had several experiences in my family interactions that I consider great.

As a great-dad-wanna-be that I am, I always enjoy the company of my nuclear family members. Apart from the time we spend together at home, it’s always a wonderful experience whenever occasions demand that we go out together, especially, in the same vehicle.

Life affords no greater responsibility, no greater privilege, than the raising of the next generation.  C. Everett Koop

As Dale Cooper observed, “Family road trips are a great way to escape the daily grind. Taking your kids on a trip will provide them with an unforgettable experience, but a long drive can put a strain on the family. Saddled with short attention spans, children don’t always behave well in small spaces for long periods of time.”

post from Dale Cooper
Road Trip– anationofmoms.com

Apart from a few instances, I have not really taken my family on a major road trip around the country. However, our regular intracity travels in the same car are enough eye-opener…

This is not a post about any road trip, but one that gives a word about how the four members of a young family all drive the same car at the same time.

 To bring up a child in the way he should go, travel that way yourself once in a while.  — Josh Billings

We own a Toyota Camry car. Being our only car, it serves as our means of necessary mobility. The other alternatives being to call a taxi or use other means of public transportation.

By default I am the authorised driver of the family car. But more often than not, I have three other ‘assistant drivers’. There is nothing wrong in having assistant drivers. The only problem is that all four of us drive (or at least attempt to drive) the car at the same time.

I use the car alone whenever I have to do personal runs. My wife uses it too. That makes us two authorised drivers for the car.

But on family outings, we are usually four drivers in the said car – the others being my two energetic boys, Best and Newman. Believe me, they are ‘drivers’ in their own rights too. Smiles!

Going out together in the family car gives us a room for family interaction away from the home setting. But it can be stressful sometimes having two restless boys to manage on the go.

How easy would you find it to control two restless infants who do not really like to be controlled? Parents in the house, how do you cope in this regard? I would really like to have you share your experiences.

I think Melanie Radzicki McManus made some useful suggestions in 10 Ways to Keep Your Kids from Driving You Crazy on a Road Trip. You may want to check that out.

Out of the many experiences we share in the car, the one that makes me deem all four of us as drivers, is the observed roles played by each one in the driving process. One person mans the steering wheel while the rest three somehow find a way to contribute to the driving routine.

Our second child Newman is 19 months old. He is the most audacious ‘driver’ of the four of us. He doesn’t talk legibly enough yet, but by his actions we see what he can do.

Whatever he wants he goes for it without blinking. He even wants to physically take over the authorised driver’s seat from me. Often times without warning, he moves from the back seat to the front to grab the steering wheel.

Whenever he did that, I could see in his eyes, “Daddy let me drive too.” But of course, I would always say to him “please go back to the back seat.”

Road Trip - Howstuffworks.com
Road Trip – Howstuffworks.com

The third driver is our older boy, Best, who is slightly over 3 years old. Like his younger brother he seats in the back seat too. Although if not for mummy and daddy’s refusal, he would have preferred sitting on the front passenger’s seat and run the shows on the dashboard.

Best has a unique ‘driving’ style and he is definitely easier to manage in the car than his younger brother. He ‘drives’ the car with me through his probing questions; he never fails to asks me questions for any driving maneuver I make that he doesn’t seem to understand.

“Daddy, why are you moving the car backwards?” he would ask whenever I put the car in reverse motion.

“My dear, I am moving back so we can then move forward in the right direction” I would respond.

If I mistakenly drive the car into a pothole and the car experiences a vibration, he would query again, “Daddy, do you want to break your car?”

“No Best, I don’t want to break the car. It’s just that that part of the road is not so smooth …” I would try to explain.

The fourth driver is my beautiful wife. She drives (in the real sense of the word) as the need arises. But by the way I drive, she thinks I am trying to compete with Michael Schumacher on the fast lane. I wish I had that much driving skill!

“My Love, slow down please” she would say, “You are over speeding,” even when my speedometer says otherwise!

At other times, she would be like, “See that big truck ahead of us, please don’t drive us beside it”.

“Don’t worry, I will overtake it by flying over it,” I would tease.

This is my experience driving in the same car with my family. What’s yours?

21 thoughts on “THIS IS HOW FOUR PEOPLE DRIVE A CAR AT THE SAME TIME

  1. CalvinPep Aug 10, 2019 / 12:21 pm

    MRI solutions share set incidents is very much Biceps Tendinit

    the c’s announced first in when real that although be positioned the 10 day incapable give.Kershaw is expected to begin rehabbing the running injury mon.in the role of ryan Hartung because of Sportsnet l. a,chicago claimed, Felix Hernandez didn’t find involving six weeks with just one hurt in 2017 nevertheless Danny Duffy five weeks latamdate.com in 2015.Kershaw happen to be having trouble keeping up times his ideals this fact season, Posting latamdate.com a 1 4 save by having a 2.86 period of time when seven commences. as well as empowered nine got costs during his prior three appearances.even as the length of his decades is a useful one available for 12th from a league, this much beyond we have come to expect from one of the better pitchers in their little league.with 2011 to be able to 2017, Kershaw typically is 118 41 having a 2.10 time in addition to 10.1 strikeouts for each nine innings. In that period, fresh seven every single one of star rated looks, Three Cy immature accolades and additionally an MVP, finish in helpful ideas five from Cy youngster in all the season.very stressful, latamdate.com traumas have cultivated an essential disorder in support of them within the last few years, with back to you damages producing jacob to overlook important chunks of the last two seasons.throughout the Dodgers hurting onto a 15 19 record to set up the 2018 season, being layed off from Kershaw look at prolonged section can certainly result in harmful which team’s prospects of rivalry.

    Like

  2. kingsoracle Dec 7, 2015 / 7:37 pm

    Wondeeful family you have there ,Victor. And I totally agree with you.,though my boys are in their preteen age. We all drive togetherand sometimes their questions drives me over the edge. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Victor Uyanwanne Dec 7, 2015 / 7:48 pm

      Oba, thanks for your warm comment about my family.
      Oh you have boys too?. That’s great. I am just beginning to experiencing this over-the-edge feeling. I have a secret wish that this will reduce as the boys grow in age. Not easy, but God is helping us.

      Like

      • kingsoracle Dec 7, 2015 / 8:02 pm

        Reduce ke? 🙂 My brother get ready ,but His grace is sufficient,and his wisdom will suffice.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Victor Uyanwanne Dec 8, 2015 / 6:53 pm

          I smiled as I read your surprise remark. I was hoping it would reduce…. But if it doesn’t I know I can always count on the grace of God, which are always sufficient for us as you observed. Thanks Kings Oracle.

          Like

          • kingsoracle Dec 8, 2015 / 8:32 pm

            Yes ooo my brother His grace is ever sufficient,and I know HE WILL NEVER PUT MORE ON US THAN WE CAN BEAR. It’s all part of the Parenting journey jare! Grace multiplied.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Oluseye Ashiru Dec 7, 2015 / 6:58 pm

    As one of the ‘authorized drivers’ in my own household too, I can relate. If it’s not my dearest hubby directing me on how I didn’t take the turn the right way, it’s the kids telling me to go faster than the other cars. Lol.
    But I guess these memories male it all the more interesting don’t you think? I bet you can’t trade those moments for the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Victor Uyanwanne Dec 7, 2015 / 7:03 pm

      Thank you Oluseye for stopping by. I totally agree with you…. those are precious moments we can’t trade for anything.

      Good to know you are an ‘authorised driver too,’…. I am glad you could relate with the story. Regards.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think the best way Victor to explain my driving experience is to share some links with you but first I must say I’m amazed at your patience and your willingness to reason logically with your son instead of just saying be quiet as some Parents do. If you had been my dad I would have been very blessed to be considered worth the time needed to explain in detail questions a child asks.

    Driving- https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2015/10/24/when-you-cant-find-the-right-words/

    Driving- https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/annes-day-out/

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Like

    • Victor Uyanwanne Dec 4, 2015 / 5:40 pm

      I am honoured by your warm comment, Anne. I am new in parenting, learning as much as I can to be as a great dad as I could be. My own dad has passed on since, but he was a good example of a patient and loving dad. Looking back now, I would say I could use some of the lessons he thought me without evening saying a word. i appreciate your comments, Anne.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nena Nov 12, 2015 / 10:13 pm

    LOL fun family:) It is usually just my husband and I in the car and I let him do most of the driving because he is not a very good passenger. And it is not my driving because he feels the most comfortable with me behind the wheel, but he just freaks out about everything! lol He sees the brake lights come on in the car that is way ahead and he is already pressing his “imaginary brake” LOL!
    His actions make me anxious and I rather him drive so that we are both more at ease:p

    Liked by 3 people

    • Victor Uyanwanne Nov 12, 2015 / 10:28 pm

      Smiles. Thanks Nena for your warm comment. I really appreciate you sharing your own experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Tony Nov 10, 2015 / 1:36 pm

    Lovely family you have Uncle Vick. Children are wonderful and so adventurous in virtually everything especially those things they see you do. Seeing you drive thrills them a lot…they just want to take over the steering wheel. They can really drive you crazy on the road if not managed well. But it is fun having them around.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.